István Anhalt
Composition Date: 1987
Revision Date: 1987
Duration: 00:24:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 3 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 3 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 2 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (79.27 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:

István Anhalt

Simulacrum, 1986-87

Commissioned by: National Arts Centre Orchestra and Gabriel Chmura

“... a remarkably fertile piece of musical invention.(...) His textures are often thick, but never unclear, and always under the control of his dynamic sense of colour.” Robert Everett-Green, The Globe and Mail

“An image, a portrait, reflection in a mirror or in water, a shadow, something imagined, the recollection of a thing, an imitation, an appearance are some of the notions that meet in the word ‘simulacrum’. (...) When I started composing the piece... I was reminded of certain past events in my life and also in the lives of others, it surprised me but little that snatches from a few earlier musics – not unlike memory images – demanded inclusion in the emerging new work. (...) However, the main burden of the piece is not a backward-looking glance for its own sake, but rather what such rememberings can do for one in the ongoing business of living.”

Premiere Information:
Oct. 7, 1987, Ottawa; National Arts Centre Orchestra; Gabriel Chmura, cond.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 A596si
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • March 8, 1990
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (108 p.) ;
    108 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Parts page count: 296
    20 parts (available for rental) ([296] p.) ;
    Height: 32 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • 2(picc)(alto flute)2(Eng hn)2(bass cl)(E-flat clar)2(cbsn)/2200/perc(1)/strings(min.10-8-6-5-4) with optionally, 1 or 2 keyboards, 2 horns, 1 trumpet, 2 trombones and harp.
    Ms. (photocopy); master copy of score & parts in CMC Toronto.
    Duration: ca. 24:00.

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Simulacrum in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Simulacrum: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Simulacrum by István Anhalt (Score)
Printed on demand
SimulacrumYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Rental Library