Contemplation II
for solo violin

Eugene Astapov
Composition Date: 2014
Duration: 00:08:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Violin


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Violin
Programme Note:
Contemplation II is the second piece in the series under that title, a series that explores inspiration and emotions that I go through at a given point in life and decide to translate through music. Composing for a solo instrument allows me to do that most cohesively. These pieces are written for one instrument in order to create and represent one character that speaks throughout the whole composition. The melodic and harmonic material is meant to create a certain atmosphere that would prevail throughout the composition and encompass the listener into its homogenous sound world.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3111 A858co
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Violin
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • March 12, 2014
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (5 p.) ;
    5 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase


Click here to listen to Contemplation II for solo violin in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Contemplation II for solo violin by Eugene Astapov (Score)
Printed on demand
Contemplation II for solo violin
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver