Mouvement symphonique no 1
pour orchestre symphonique

Éric Champagne
Composition Date: 2011
Duration: 00:09:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piccolo
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 3 x Timpani
  • 1 x Percussion
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
In momentarily abandoning the symphonic poem form used in my most recent orchestral works, I have chosen an abstract free form for this Symphonic movement # 1 in order to develop melodic material that is also relatively abstract: a 20-note series. The different sections of the piece present this series, partially or complete, in various melodic and harmonic forms, while alternating the orchestral colours and the contrasting energies.

The brass play the introduction, in a heavy and tragic character. Delicate woodwind interventions introduce the second section where the strings take on a quasi-romantic mood. A short intermezzo by the flutes introduces a violent and fast full orchestra section. The calm transition leads to the final development where various motifs heard since the beginning of the work are intertwined.

Symphonic movement # 1 was commissioned by the Academic Orchestra of Zurich for its 2012 Canadian tour. It was premiered on May 29th, 2012, at the Zurich's Tonhalle concert hall, under direction of Johannes Schlaefli. The Canadian premiere was on July 4th, 2012, at the Québec City's Palais Montcalm.

Premiere Information:
29 mai 2012, Tonhalle, Zurich, Suisse; Orchestre Académique de Zurich, Johannes Schlaefli, direction.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 C450mo
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • January 17, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (43 p.) ; 48 cm
    43 Pages
    Height: 48 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour orchestre: 3222, 4231, timb, cordes.
    Oeuvre commandée par l'Orchestre Académique de Zurich.
    Partition en sons réels.
    Photocopie; l'original se trouve au CMC au Québec.
    1 mouvement.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Mouvement symphonique no 1 pour orchestre symphoniqueFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver