for violin and piano

Composition Date: 2012
Duration: 00:05:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Violin


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violin
Click here to download full work (7.94 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Éxtasis is a Spanish word describes the state of "ecstasy" or "rapture". As the title suggests, the music is spontaneous and highly elaborated, and meant to be a "show piece" for the violinist's virtuosity and musicality. The thematic materials of this composition are built on fast rhythmic figures that emphasize the interval of fifths, also constantly outline the tonal areas which based on the open strings of the violin. The slower enigmatic middle section depicts the "altered ego" or "trance" of Éxtasis; it is an imaginary conversation between two voices created by alternating reflective passages of string's harmonics with miniature runs on high register. The music continues in high energy, which brings the rhapsodic and capricious nature of the composition to a climatic conclusion.

Premiere Information:
22/03/12 Jane Mallet Theatre Toronto Véronique Mathieu, violin; Stephanie Chua, piano.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3211 H678ex
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Violin
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 15, 2012
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (15 p.) ;
    15 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 6
    1 part (6 p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Exstasis for violin and piano: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Exstasis for violin and piano: Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Exstasis for violin and piano by Alice Ping Yee Ho (Score)
Printed on demand
Exstasis for violin and piano by Alice Ping Yee Ho (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
Exstasis for violin and piano
Library Loan