Header - Services

Arts innovators honoured with the Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Awards

Arts innovators honoured with the Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Awards

May 29, 2012

Ottawa, May 29, 2012 – The Canada Council for the Arts today announced the seven award-winning and internationally renowned artists who will receive the 2012 Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Awards. Sculptor Valérie Blass; contemporary dancer Nova Bhattacharya; interdisciplinary artist Manon De Pauw; playwright, actor and director Denis Lavalou; composer and conductor Brian Current; poet Sylvia Legris; and filmmaker and multimedia artist Graeme Patterson are this year’s winners.

The annual awards, worth $15,000 each, recognize outstanding mid-career artists in the seven disciplines funded by the Canada Council: visual arts, dance, integrated arts, theatre, music, writing and publishing, and media arts. The prizes were created using funds from a generous bequest made by the late Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton to the Canada Council. The winners were chosen from the pool of applicants from the Grants to Professional Artists programs during the 2010-11 fiscal year.

“The Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton winners join an august group of artists who have gone on to gain major artistic recognition in Canada and internationally,” said Canada Council Director and CEO Robert Sirman. “These seven artists are pushing the envelope in their respective disciplines and are definitely seven to watch.”

Download images of the winners and their works.
Read the complete news release here or by copying and pasting the following URL into your web browser’s address bar: http://canadacouncil.ca/news/releases/2011/oy129827147985351570.htm


Media Contacts:

Mireille Allaire: 1-800-263-5588 or 613-566-4414, ext. 4523

Heather McAfee: 1-800-263-5588 or 613-566-4414, ext. 4166

Related Composers: Brian Current