product image thumbnail

Price: $13.98


Audio Samples: 
Eclipse (929.80 kb)
This feature requires the flash player plugin

Oud Duo (931.84 kb)
This feature requires the flash player plugin

Call Number: CD 1152
Ensemble/Performer: Christina Petrowska Quilico
Media Type: CD
Year of Release: 2007
Record Label: Centrediscs / Centredisques

This collection of piano music spans nearly two decades of music by Canadian composer David Mott, featuring three solo works, as well as his piano concerto Eclipse. The second movement of the concerto, “The Dark Shadowed Moon”, is dedicated to Canadian Astronaut Steve MacLean, who requested the music for listening while in orbit on a space shuttle mission in September 2006. Of his music, David Mott writes: “My feeling that music is about relationship, to Music, to a performer, to an audience, is paramount. Music is always an exploration of sonic time and space, a mystery, a part of the Creative Principle which governs all appearances and disappearances and challenges my desire for ongoing discovery.”

"David Mott's an exceptional disc that showcases aspects of this master musician of which I for one have not been previously aware...I had not previously realized that his prowess as a composer extended beyond the realm of his own performance practice. This CD was therefore an ear-opening experience for me."
-David Olds, Wholenote

“Eclipse is described as a piano concerto. However, the piano is so closely tied to the ensemble that it doesn’t really feel like one. Also, the music’s non-Western influences make it sound like…well, jazzy Lou Harrison…. varied and innovative enough to make it a trip worth taking…. Dark Masque, dedicated to Petrowska Quilico, was inspired by her drawings of theatrical masks. The pianist plays it with gothic intensity and concentration.” – Raymond Tuttle, Fanfare

1-3. Eclipse

4. Oud Duo

5. Tango: Under the Winter Moon

6. Dark Masque Masks


Christina Petrowska Quilico (piano)
Chamber ensemble / Ensemble de chambre: John Brownell (percussion); Rob Clutton (double bass/contrebasse); John Kameel Farah (synthesizers/synthésiteur); Ed Ed Hanley (tabla); Kelly Jefferson (tenor saxophone/saxophone ténor); Kim Chow Morris (dizi); David Mott (baritone saxophone/saxophone baryton); Joseph Petric (accordion/accordéon); Suba Sakaran (voice/voix); Bassam Shashouk (oud); Sundar Viswanathan (soprano saxophone/saxophone soprano).
Mark Chambers (conductor/chef d'orchestre)

Suggest a Correction or Addition for this Product Record