for solo piano

Adam Sherkin
Adam Sherkin
Composition Date: 2009
Genre: Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
Click here to download full work (8.35 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
In celebration of the Haydn bicentenary in 2009, this solo piano piece explores the various structures at play within sonata form. Through the development of monodic lines, archetypal pairings of ‘Fast’ and ‘Slow’ motion are combined in an overall sonata-allegro structure. The integration of narrative threads and recurring verses produces a shifting foreground, eventually receding to expose an underlying presence. This presence, (the starting point for Daycurrents), is none other than Haydn’s musical cipher, ‘B-A-D-D-G.’

Premiere Information:
22/04/2009 Heliconian Hall Toronto Adam Sherkin, piano Classical Music Consort: Haydn Festival 2009


  • Call Number:
  • MI 2110 S5515day
  • Genre:
  • Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • January 13, 2011
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (9 p.) ; 22 x 28 cm.
    9 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Solo piano

Associated Community Profile

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Daycurrents for solo piano in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
As At FirstAs At FirstCD $13.98
Daycurrents for solo piano by Adam Sherkin (Score)
Printed on demand
Daycurrents for Solo Piano: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Daycurrents for solo piano
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver