Concerto for Alto-Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (Concerto in Quattro Umori)

Composition Date: 2009
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Saxophone(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Oboe
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Bassoon
  • 1 x Saxophone
  • 1 x Horn
  • 1 x Trumpet
  • 1 x Trombone
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Saxophone ( Solo )
  • 1 x Chamber orch.
Click here to download full work (15.69 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Concerto for Alto-Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra
("Concerto in quattro umori")
Jacobus Kloppers (2005, revised 2009)
1. Passione e ragione (Passion and Dispassion)
2. Nostalgia (Contemplation)
3. Festa di danze (Celebration)
The Alto-Saxophone Concerto is a reworking of my earlier 1994 Triptych, "Carolingian Temperaments" for Alto-Saxophone and Organ, commissioned by the Edmonton Composer Concert Society for saxophonist Charles Stolte.
The name “Carolingian” was a playful reference to the name “Charles” and “temperaments” refers to various “moods”,contrasting states of the human mind: fury and indifference; nostalgia; uninhibited playfulness and humor. In the 1994
version, the saxophone and organ complemented each other in a unique way as instruments with their astounding variety of timbres, dynamics and possibilities for characterization. At Polish saxophonist Dariusz Samol's request, the
organ-saxophone Triptych was reworked, extended and orchestrated in 2005 as an Alto-Saxophone Concerto. Two movements of the concerto premiered at the 4th International Saxophone Festival in Szczecin, Poland on April 8, 2006 with soloist Dariusz Samol and the "Orkiestra Opery na Zamku" under the direction of Jacek Kraszewski, in a program called “Canada Meets Poland” sponsored by the Edmonton Composers Concert Society and the Canadian Embassy.
On February 15, 2009 the complete concerto (in its finally revised form) received its North-American premiere during the "North American Saxophone Alliance IX Conference", Convocation Hall, University of Alberta with soloist Charles Stolte and the Edmonton Chamber Players under Maestro Jacek Rogala.
The relationship between soloist and orchestra in this concerto is one of ensemble work and a blended structure rather than dialogue, although there is some discourse in the third movement. The finale is expanded (from the original Organ/Saxophone Triptych "Carolingian Temperaments") with a cadenza and new
coda in which the main themes from Movement I and II reappear.
The main theme of the work is derived from the name “Charles Stolte” using Latin, German and a close match of French note names:
C B A D A E E-flat E-flat B-flat A B E
This theme is treated extensively and as quasi ostinato in the first movement (a varied da capo) but it also generates the main motifs of the second and third movement (especially the rising fourth and falling second motif). In the final
section of the third movement the full theme reappears.
In the first movement of the concerto(“Passion and dispassion”) the bright sound edge of the instruments is used to highlight frenzy or cold abstraction. The Piccolo simulates something of the quint-mutation effect of the original organ mixture or cymbal. The second ("Contemplation"), makes use of the warm, darker, lyrical colors of the instruments with elaborate contrapuntal
lines. "Celebration" (III) displays other characteristics and timbres: brilliance, poignancy, playfulness, humor, and
something of the burlesque, with shorter motifs and rhythmic drive. It also uses stylized dance including traditional dances like the Minuet and Polka and a wistful Habanera, but also elements of 20th century Jazz, including the "Charles-ton" (pun intended).
As in the case of my other works, the Concerto is in a neo-tonal style.

Commissioned by: Edmonton Composers Concert Society

Premiere Information:
15/02/2009 Convocation Hall, University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta Live Performance: Charles Stolte (Alto-Saxophone) The Edmonton Chamber Players Conductor: Maestro Jacek Rogala


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1325 K66co 2009
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Saxophone(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • November 2, 2009
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (79 p.) ; 39 cm.
    79 Pages
    Height: 39 cm
    Width: 28 cm
    Parts page count: 138
    14 parts ([138] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    1 solo part (15 p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Alto Saxophone,
    Violin 1,Violin 2, Viola, Violoncello, Contrabass,
    Flute/Piccolo, Oboe, Clarinet,
    Tenor Saxophone, Bassoon, French Horn,
    Trumpet, Trombone,
    I. "Passione e ragione"
    (Passion and
    II. "Nostaglia"
    III. "Festa di danze"
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Concerto for Alto-saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (concerto in Quattro Umori): Score
(downloadable PDF)
Concerto for Alto-saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (concerto in Quattro Umori): Solo Parts
Solo Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Concerto for Alto-Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (Concerto in Quattro Umori) by Jacobus Kloppers (Score)
Printed on demand
Concerto for Alto-Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra (Concerto in Quattro Umori)You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver