for string octet

Composition Date: 2009
Duration: 00:17:30
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, String Octets


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 4 x Violin
  • 2 x Viola
  • 2 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (9.12 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Triptych was inspired by one of the most well-known paintings ever made in that genre: The Garden of Earthly Delights, by Flemish master, Hieronymus Bosch (c.1450-1516). The three movements of the piece correspond to the three panels of the painting (plus frontispiece). The piece evolves from the austere, uncertain beginnings of the world (Frontispiece), into the peaceful, but strange surroundings of the Garden. The middle movement is playful, sensual, and earthy (Earthly Delights); the last is relentless, mocking, and grotesque (Hell).

There is so much colour, symbolism and detail present in the painting; the music is simply a distillation of these ideas. The piece, like the painting, follows a sense of predestined trajectory. The opening material of the piece becomes a recurring motive throughout all three movements: from the very beginning, there is a sense of inevitability about where things are going.

Triptych was privately commissioned by: Caroline R. Cloutier, Loyd Furnes, Colin Hamilton, Ralph Maundrell, Patricia Osoko, Christina Wolf, Mark Yeung, and Karl Zaenker.

Premiere Information:
27 September, 2009 at Redeemer Lutheran Church, Vancouver, B.C. Performed by: Caroline R. Cloutier, Christina Wolf, Ralph Maundrell and Karl Zaenker (violins); Patricia Osoko and Loyd Furnes (violas); Mark Yeung and Colin Hamilton (cellos).


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3148 K741tr
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, String Octets
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 8, 2009
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (93 p.) ; 28 cm.
    93 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 99
    8 parts ((99) p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • String Octet (four violins, two violas, two celli)
    I- Frontispiece/The Garden
    II- Earthly Delights
    III- Hell
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Triptych for String Octet: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Triptych for string octet: Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Triptych for string octet by Elizabeth Knudson (Score)
Printed on demand
Triptych for string octet by Elizabeth Knudson (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
Triptych for string octet
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver