for violin and violoncello

Composition Date: 2004
Duration: 00:09:50
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Misc. String Duos (Mixed)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (7.15 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Bereft, is a challenging four movement work composed for violin and violoncello, which is dedicated to the memory of my nephew Jordon Lee Stroobach (1984-2003) who was killed suddenly in a car accident. He was 19 years old.
The following was published in a review in the Journal of the International Alliance for Women in Music, Volume 13, No 1, 2007 written by Dr. Margaret Lucia. The review can be found on pages 32 and 33.
“Stroobach is clearly partial to strings: six compositions on the disc (in addition to Aurora Borealis) are dominated by instruments of this family. These are also among the most heartfelt of her compositions. Stroobach finds her voice in the angularity of quartel harmony and dissonant counterpoint, two qualities ideally suited to stringed instruments. For example, her Aria for Strings (three movements) exploits the dissonance of suspensions and a delicate interplay of ostinatos, all within a clearly tonal framework. The same is true in the four-movement Bereft, a poignant memorial for Justin (sic) Lee Stroobach. Here, Stroobach deftly uses drones and perfect fourths and fifths and eliminates vibrato almost entirely in the third and fourth movements to striking effect.”

Premiere Information:
October 12, 2005, Conservatoire de Musique du Quebec a Gatineau, Gatineau, Quebec; Scott Chancey - Violinist, Dr. Jan Jarvlepp - Violoncello


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3126 S92be
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Misc. String Duos (Mixed)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • December 5, 2006
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (19 p.) ;
    19 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • violin and cello
    Movement I - Contemplatively
    Movement II - Intensity
    Movement III - Lament
    Movement IV - Angrily
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Bereft for Violin and Violoncello: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Aurora BorealisAurora BorealisCD $20.98
Bereft for violin and violoncello by Evelyn Stroobach (Score)
Printed on demand
Bereft for violin and violoncello
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver