Concerto pour piano et orchestre symphonique

Alain Payette
Alain Payette
Composition Date: 2000
Duration: 00:28:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
The three movements of this concerto are of contrasting structure and mood. The first, Modéré et passionné, is the most substantial and has a deep, dramatic side. The second, Très lent, proclaims highly colourful harmonies with a freshness that seeks to reach people’s hearts. The third, Vif et léger, is very light-hearted, evoking the delights and pleasures that human beings seek from life.
The first movement was composed in the early 1980s. The second and third movements were added in 1993, at which time the concerto had still not been orchestrated. When pianist Anne-Marie Dubois met the composer in 2000, she was greatly impressed by his concerto and secured the funding necessary for him to complete the orchestration. The generosity of Roger Dubois enabled Payette to spend several months revising and orchestrating his score. The work is dedicated to Lise Desmarais, the composer’s wife, their daughter, Florence, and son, Jules.

Premiere Information:
Création le 12 avril 2003, Centre culturel, Drummondville, Québec, Canada; Anne-Marie Dubois, piano, Orchestre symphonique de Drummondville, Marc Bélanger, direction.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1361 P344con
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • February 4, 2006
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (139 p.) ; 36 cm.
    139 Pages
    Height: 36 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour piano et orchestre (2222, 4231, timb, strings).
    Partition d'orchestre.
    Dédié "À ma femme Lise et à mes deux enfants Florence et Jules".
    Photocopie; l'original se trouve au CMC Montréal.
    Consultation sur place seulement.
    En trois mouvements.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Concerto pour piano et orchestre symphonique in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product