String quartet
opus 11(b)

Ray Twomey
Ray Twomey
Composition Date: 1997
Duration: 00:19:20
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Programme Note:
"'Sinfonia' Opus 11a and 'String Quartet' Opus 11b. These works, two versions of the same composition, are a musical autobiography. Ray was born in England and lived through seven years of destruction, spending many nights in air raid shelters listening to the sounds of total war. An air raid, with its sirens, the drone of bombers, bombs dropping and anti-aircraft fire can be heard in the first movement. The main theme, which occurs soon after the opening, reappears inverted after the air raid - symbolic of utter chaos prevelant at that time. However, like the Phoenix rising from the ashes, the theme not only corrects itself but changes from minor to major modality near the end.
The second movement represents New Zealand with its bitter-sweet memories for the composer. New Zealand is a beautiful country.
The humerous [sic] third movement, called "England again" [sic...England Revisited] is scored pizzicato throughout, and leads to the final movement "Canada" - big Canada, magnificent Canada, vast Canada, noble Canada, free Canada, beautiful Canada... the huge but simple harmonies near the end are Ray's interpretation of the optimism he feels for the country. "


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3134 T974str 1997
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 31, 2003
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (50 p.) ; 32 cm.
    50 Pages
    Height: 32 cm
    Width: 24 cm
    Parts page count: 46
    4 parts ([46] p.) ; 32 cm.
    Height: 32 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For string quartet.

    Also exists in version for string orchestra : "Sinfonia".

    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto.
    1) England; allegro moderato -- 2) New Zealand; Andante -- 3) England Revisited; Allegro vivace -- 4) Canada; Allegro.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
String Quartet Opus 11(b): Score
(downloadable PDF)
SoundscapesSoundscapesCD $20.98
String quartet opus 11(b) by Ray Twomey (Score)
Printed on demand
String quartet opus 11(b) by Ray Twomey (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
String quartet opus 11(b)
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver