Alex Pauk
Alex Pauk
Composition Date: 1989
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
Alex Pauk

Cosmos, 1989

Commissioned by: Québec Symphony Orchestra

Premiered by: Québec Symphony Orchestra, 1989

“The introduction of Cosmos is built around an extended horn solo which in this case represents the solitary world trying to perceive and comprehend universal forces both near and far. Gradually the horn blends… into varied layers of lattices and massive blocks appear in the musical structure and represent the radiation and energy of galaxies colliding, merging, flaring or vanishing. […]

“Throughout the piece gongs and other ringing percussion instruments have been featured to create a sense of the ‘great chiming of the universe’ which others have called the ‘music of the spheres.’”


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 P323co
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 19, 2003
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Additional Information:

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

    Library Loan
    This item is only available for library loan


Click here to listen to Cosmos in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
IridescenceIridescenceCD $6.00
Library Loan