Quantum mechanics

Jeffrey Ryan
Jeffrey Ryan
Composition Date: 1996
Revision Date: 1996
Duration: 00:16:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (8.33 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
The string quartet Quantum Mechanics is in three movements inspired by images and ideas found in atomic energy. The outer movements, Fission and Fusion, are energetic and extroverted, reflecting their titles, while the middle movement, Absolute Zero, is a meditation on stillness. The third movement is a fusion of musical ideas from the first two movements, including the use of glissandi and the emphasis on thirds and tritones.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3134 R988qu
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • November 10, 1997
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score ([32] p.) + 4 parts ([54] p.) ;
    32 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Parts page count: 54
  • Additional Information:
  • Duration: 16:00
    For string quartet.
    Photocopy; master copy of score and parts in CMC Toronto.
    I. Fission -- II. Absolute zero -- III. Fusion.
    Contemporary Showcase
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Quantum mechanics in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Quantum MechanicsQuantum MechanicsCD $13.98
Quantum Mechanics: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Quantum mechanics: Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Quantum mechanics by Jeffrey Ryan (Score)
Printed on demand
Quantum mechanics by Jeffrey Ryan (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
Quantum mechanics
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary