Winnipeg New Music Festival: Through the Looking Glass

Monday, January 29, 2018
Event Title: Winnipeg New Music Festival: Through the Looking Glass
  • Region: Prairie
  • Venue / Location: Westminster United Church: 745 Westminster Avenue, Winnipeg, MB
  • Time: 7:30pm
  • Price: $Adult - $25; Student - $12
  • Genre: Choral (9+ Voices)
  • External Link: WNMF3: Through the Looking Glass

In an eclectic concert exploring identity, politics, and spirituality, local choirs Polycoro and Camerata Nova take the stage to present excerpts from Philip Glass’ iconoclastic operas Einstein on the Beach and The Coronation of Akhnaten alongside choral works by celebrated Canadian and international composers. Academy Award® nominee Jóhann Jóhannsson (Iceland), influenced by Glass, will present the live performance world premiere of Orphic Hymn from his latest Deutsche Grammophon release. Intimate music by Arvo Pärt (Estonia), Andrew Balfour (Winnipeg), and Jocelyn Morlock (Vancouver) contrast with two ebullient works by Vivian Fung (USA/Canada), a new politically-charged work by former WSO Composer-in-Residence T. Patrick Carrabré (Brandon), and Ted Hearne’s (USA) musical exploration of identity, ethnicity and culture in Letter to My Father.

Presented with the support of Sandi and Ron Mielitz


Philip Glass Knee Play 1 from Einstein on the Beach (1976) Vivian Fung (Can) Sanci Kuni (2010) CANADIAN PREMIERE Andrew Balfour (Can) Selkirk Avenue (2015) Jocelyn Morlock (Can) Absalon fili mi (2009) Ted Hearne Letter To My Father from Coloring Book (2015) Philip Glass The Coronation of Akhnaten (excerpt) and The Window of Appearances from Akhnaten (1983) Jóhann Jóhannsson Orphic Hymn (2016) WORLD PREMIERE T. Patrick Carrabré (Can) Just Society (2017) WORLD PREMIERE Arvo Pärt Nunc Dimittis (2001) Vivian Fung (Can) Kecak Attack! (2008) CANADIAN PREMIERE

Polycoro Chamber Choir, John Wiens, director
Camerata Nova, Mel Braun, director
Cary Denby, piano/organ
T. Patrick Carrabré, electronics

Music, Politics, and the Personal
6:45PM | Westminster United Church

T. Patrick Carrabré, electronics Andrew Balfour, composer Harry Stafylakis, host