Blythwood Winds presents: Voices of Canadian Women

May 30, 2017


Blythwood Winds, champions of Canadian new music for wind quintet, celebrate the diverse output of Canada’s women composers with VOICES OF CANADIAN WOMEN, Saturday, June 10th at 8pm at Heliconian Hall.

This captivating exploration will feature Float, a world premiere by Anna Höstman specially commissioned for this concert. The program also spotlights selections from both established and emerging Canadian women composers, including Norma Beecroft's Images, Linda Catlin Smith's Hemstitch, Elizabeth Raum’s King Lear Fantasy, Abigail Richardson-Schulte’s Emerge, Bekah SimmsThe Formula (previously commissioned and premiered by the Blythwood Winds at Hogtown Roundup: Toronto Graffiti in 2016), and Ana Sokolović’s Chansons à boire.

Special guest performer: Cheryl Duvall.

Tickets available: Advance $15, Door $20

The Blythwood Winds is one of Toronto's most sought after wind ensembles. Founded in 2010, the quintet performs at many of Toronto's musical and cultural venues including the Canadian Music Centre, the Music Gallery, the Toronto Music Garden, and The Art Gallery of Ontario. The Blythwood Winds is deeply committed to the performance of Canadian music. The quintet performed a concert at the Music Gallery in 2015, featuring world premieres by Toronto based composers, including former Toronto Symphony Orchestra Affiliate composer Kevin Lau. This past year, they hosted Hogtown Roundup 2: Toronto Graffiti at Toronto’s Heliconian Hall, premiering new commissioned music by Jason Doell, Elisha Denburg, and Bekah Simms. In 2015, the group was also featured on the Junofest Classical Nominees Showcase presented by CBC Music with the Canadian Music Centre in Hamilton, Ontario.

The Blythwood Winds have a fruitful relationship with the Canadian Music Centre with performances of music by many Canadian composers. The quintet has also been involved with the CMC's OPUS Testing, a co-presentation with Musica Reflecta in which the group premiered pieces for wind quintet and narrator. The Blythwood Winds is featured on the Canadian Music Centre's digital audio archive CentreStreams, with recordings of previously unrecorded works by many CMC Associate Composers.

In addition to its dedication to presenting the works of Canadian composers, the Blythwood Winds is passionate about spreading music to all audiences, performing its own arrangements of different musical genres at many Toronto bars and restaurants.

Timothy Crouch, flute
Elizabeth Eccleston, oboe
Anthony Thompson, clarinet
Kevin Harris, bassoon
Curtis Vander Hyden, horn