Peter Hatch’s Wiki Mozart: The Oboe Quartet Remixed

April 10, 2016

Peter Hatch’s Wiki Mozart: The Oboe Quartet Remixed
A Lecture Recital by Elizabeth Eccleston
Canadian Music Centre
20 St. Joseph Street, Toronto
Monday, April 18th, 2016 3pm
Free Admission

Sharon Lee, violin
Woosol Cho, viola
Dobrochna Zubek, violoncello

*In partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts
from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

Quartet in F Major, K. 370 - W. A. Mozart
Wiki Mozart - Peter Hatch
Mozart was an innovator in his time. His music is artfully crafted and often transcends the sublime. His masterpiece, the Quartet in F Major, K. 370, is a crucial work in the oboe chamber music repertoire. It established the oboe quartet as a genre. In 2006, in celebration of the 250th anniversary of Mozart’s birth, the Gallery Chamber Players of Niagara with oboist James Mason commissioned Canadian composer Peter Hatch to write for this same configuration in homage to the great master. Wiki Mozart, the resulting piece – written for oboe, violin, viola, cello and sampled sounds – is an astonishing example of Hatch’s creative voice. Through his use of formal design based on Golden Mean proportional relationships as applied to the duration of sections, a sly sense of humor, and minimalist stylistic approach, he deconstructs Mozart, and investigates him (and his music) through a modern lens. In this lecture-recital, I examine Hatch’s compositional techniques and personal aesthetics employed in Wiki Mozart in order to fully convey the clever artistry of this excellent new addition to the repertoire.

For further information, please visit: