Arabesque for cello & piano

Alexander Brott
Composition Date: 1956
Revision Date: 1972
Duration: 00:12:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Cello


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (13.06 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Alexander Brott

Arabesque, 1957

Commissioned by:

Premiered by:

“Originally titled Rhapsody, this work was written for cello and piano in 1956. A year later, the composer made the present version for cello and orchestra and gave it its new title of Arabesque. The work is in an extended ternary form and its title derives from a style of decorative art wherein variously combined elements are grouped in a fanciful fashion. It is in one movement, ‘allegro moderato’, and there is a solo cadenza for the cello.”


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3213 B874ar
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Cello
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • March 29, 1988
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (20 p.) + 1 part (9 p.) ;
    20 Pages
    Height: 32 cm
    Parts page count: 9
  • Additional Information:
  • For violoncello and piano.
    Also arranged for violoncello and orchestra (1957).
    Ms. (photocopy); transparency of score and part in CMC Toronto.
    Duration: ca. 12 min.
    Contemporary Showcase
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Arabesque for Cello & Piano: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Arabesque for Cello & Piano: Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Arabesque for cello & piano by Alexander Brott (Score)
Printed on demand
Arabesque for cello & piano by Alexander Brott (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
Arabesque for cello & piano
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Calgary, Vancouver