for solo alto saxophone

Victor Herbiet
Composition Date: 2015
Duration: 00:03:00
Genre: Woodwinds, Solo / Ensemble, Saxophone


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Saxophone
Programme Note:
Fire is part of a cycle of four pieces for solo alto saxophone titled The Four Elements that was composed with the intention of involving the performer to a greater extent in the creative process. Although each piece is a complete work in itself that the performer can choose to play as a standalone saxophone solo, the Elements can be combined to create a suite. When playing more than one of the Elements, the performer can choose the quantity and order of the pieces to create a larger work that conveys a story. I recommend that the performer relate the story he or she has imagined either orally or in program notes in order to engage the audience in the creative process as well. Although each Element expresses different moods, it is up to the performer to decide how to interpret them and create his or her own story. For example, the order Fire-Earth-Water-Wind could evoke the story of a sacrificial rite and its gloomy aftermath, followed by a torrential downpour and the clearing of the skies where birds are calling to each other.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 5115 H566fi
  • Genre:
  • Woodwinds, Solo / Ensemble, Saxophone
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • August 21, 2015
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score
    4 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Archive

  • Printed copies of this title are available from G. Billaudot. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by G. Billaudot
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product