Lenten Music
suite for solo guitar

Eugene Astapov
Composition Date: 2010
Duration: 00:04:30
Genre: Strings (plectral), Solo, Guitar / Lute, Solo


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Guitar
Click here to download full work (6.91 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Lenten Music, for solo guitar, is a work that reflects the various types of musical material that are the fundamental structures of each of the four movements, and these are clearly stated in the titles of each movement. The titles are in Russian and most of them correspond to their Latin equivalent; yet the language that I grew up with adds a special meaning for every musical unit: I. Phráza (Phrase); II. Ouzór (Pattern); III. Achórd (Chord); IV. Melódia (Melody).The technical aspects of the compositional process of this work are partly defined by the technical limitations that the guitar imposes on the composer. The title of the work also suggests that structural and expressive character of each piece would be very modest and simple: Lenten. Apart from this, each piece is meant to represent a certain mood or a state of mind that is influenced by personal and extramusical factors.

Premiere Information:
Concert Hall
Omar Fassa


  • Call Number:
  • MI 4111 A858len
  • Genre:
  • Strings (plectral), Solo, Guitar / Lute, Solo
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • December 8, 2014
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (8 p.) ;
    8 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • This piece was commissioned by Alliance for Canadian New Music
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Lenten Music suite for solo guitar by Eugene Astapov (Score)
Printed on demand
Lenten Music suite for solo guitar: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Lenten Music suite for solo guitar
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver