Our Canada
Music for radio no. 1 : Suite for orchestra

John Weinzweig
John Weinzweig
Date de composition : 1943
Date de révision : 1972
Durée: 00:11:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 2 x Flûte
  • 2 x Hautbois
  • 2 x Clarinette
  • 2 x Basson
  • 2 x Cor
  • 2 x Trompette
  • 2 x Trombone
  • 1 x Timbales
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Cordes, avec archet, non spécifées
Instrumentation no. 2:
  • 2 x Hautbois
  • 2 x Clarinette
  • 1 x Grand orchestre
Cliquez ici pour télécharger l'œuvre intégrale (32.88 Mb - version non imprimable)

Notes de programme :
Our Canada (Music for Radio No. 1)

Commissioned by the CBC Feb. 1943. A concert suite from incidental music for the historical documentary radio series "Our Canada." First performed in Toronto on CBC under Samuel Hersenhoren.

In three movements with descriptive content:

1. Wheat---"When harvest time draws near, a great rippling sea of green and gold, warm and fragrant under the summer sun, stretching from the wooded lake in the East to the foothills of the Rockies in the West, from the border in the South far into the North........."

2. Bonds of Steel-----"Trains make sweet and stirring music in the night. They sing for those that have the ears to hear and in the swift chatter of their metallic song, they tell a story; a great story of the past and a greater story of the present......"

3. The Land----"Dawn on the Eastern shores. The sun, a golden disc of pale fire rises from the sea. It moves and throws a glow across the land where men live, amidst rocks and trees, wind and rain, rivers and lakes ....speeding over towns and villages....across a boundless Prairie world. In its swift majestic passage through the Rockies it pushes back the shadows...flooding valleys and streams. Dawn on our Western shores. The light sweeps on....out over the broad pacific Ocean.

John Weinzweig


  • Cote:
  • MI 1100 W4245mu
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • September 18, 1989
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 score ([2], 30 p.) ;
    32 pages
    Hauteur: 39 cm
    Nombre total de pages des parties: 63
    20 parts ([63] p.) ;
    Hauteur: 32 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • Ms (photocopy) ; master copies of score and parts in CMC Toronto.
    2222/2220/timp, perc/strings.
    Suitable for youth & community orchestras.
    Wheat -- Bonds of Steel -- The Land.
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
  • Service de location


Click here to listen to Our Canada Music for radio no. 1 : Suite for orchestra in Centrestreams.

Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Our Canada Music for Radio No. 1 : Suite for Orchestra: Partition
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
Our Canada Music for radio no. 1 : Suite for orchestra de John Weinzweig (Partition)
L'impression sur demande
Our Canada Music for radio no. 1 : Suite for orchestraVous pouvez obtenir une copie papier de cette œuvre pour:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
en cliquant sur la touche Ajouter à la liste de demandes à droite
Des copies de cette pièce sont disponibles pour le prêt de: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Sackville, Rental Library