for violin and violoncello

Evelyn Stroobach
Evelyn Stroobach
Date de composition : 2004
Durée: 00:09:50
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Misc. String Duos (Mixed)


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 1 x Violon
  • 1 x Violoncelle
Cliquez ici pour télécharger l'œuvre intégrale (7.15 Mb - version non imprimable)

Notes de programme :
Bereft, is a challenging four movement work composed for violin and violoncello, which is dedicated to the memory of my nephew Jordon Lee Stroobach (1984-2003) who was killed suddenly in a car accident. He was 19 years old.
The following was published in a review in the Journal of the International Alliance for Women in Music, Volume 13, No 1, 2007 written by Dr. Margaret Lucia. The review can be found on pages 32 and 33.
“Stroobach is clearly partial to strings: six compositions on the disc (in addition to Aurora Borealis) are dominated by instruments of this family. These are also among the most heartfelt of her compositions. Stroobach finds her voice in the angularity of quartel harmony and dissonant counterpoint, two qualities ideally suited to stringed instruments. For example, her Aria for Strings (three movements) exploits the dissonance of suspensions and a delicate interplay of ostinatos, all within a clearly tonal framework. The same is true in the four-movement Bereft, a poignant memorial for Justin (sic) Lee Stroobach. Here, Stroobach deftly uses drones and perfect fourths and fifths and eliminates vibrato almost entirely in the third and fourth movements to striking effect.”

Renseignements sur la création :
October 12, 2005, Conservatoire de Musique du Quebec a Gatineau, Gatineau, Quebec; Scott Chancey - Violinist, Dr. Jan Jarvlepp - Violoncello


  • Cote:
  • MI 3126 S92be
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Misc. String Duos (Mixed)
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • December 5, 2006
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 score (19 p.) ;
    19 pages
    Hauteur: 28 cm
    Largeur: 22 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • violin and cello
    Movement I - Contemplatively
    Movement II - Intensity
    Movement III - Lament
    Movement IV - Angrily
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Bereft for Violin and Violoncello: Partition
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
Aurora BorealisAurora BorealisCD $20.98
Bereft for violin and violoncello de Evelyn Stroobach (Partition)
L'impression sur demande
Bereft for violin and violoncello
Demande de prêt
Des copies de cette pièce sont disponibles pour le prêt de: Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver