String quartet
opus 11(b)

Ray Twomey
Ray Twomey
Date de composition : 1997
Durée: 00:19:20
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 2 x Violon
  • 1 x Alto
  • 1 x Violoncelle
Notes de programme :
"'Sinfonia' Opus 11a and 'String Quartet' Opus 11b. These works, two versions of the same composition, are a musical autobiography. Ray was born in England and lived through seven years of destruction, spending many nights in air raid shelters listening to the sounds of total war. An air raid, with its sirens, the drone of bombers, bombs dropping and anti-aircraft fire can be heard in the first movement. The main theme, which occurs soon after the opening, reappears inverted after the air raid - symbolic of utter chaos prevelant at that time. However, like the Phoenix rising from the ashes, the theme not only corrects itself but changes from minor to major modality near the end.
The second movement represents New Zealand with its bitter-sweet memories for the composer. New Zealand is a beautiful country.
The humerous [sic] third movement, called "England again" [sic...England Revisited] is scored pizzicato throughout, and leads to the final movement "Canada" - big Canada, magnificent Canada, vast Canada, noble Canada, free Canada, beautiful Canada... the huge but simple harmonies near the end are Ray's interpretation of the optimism he feels for the country. "


  • Cote:
  • MI 3134 T974str 1997
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • July 31, 2003
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 score (50 p.) ; 32 cm.
    50 pages
    Hauteur: 32 cm
    Largeur: 24 cm
    Nombre total de pages des parties: 46
    4 parts ([46] p.) ; 32 cm.
    Hauteur: 32 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • For string quartet.

    Also exists in version for string orchestra : "Sinfonia".

    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto.
    1) England; allegro moderato -- 2) New Zealand; Andante -- 3) England Revisited; Allegro vivace -- 4) Canada; Allegro.
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
String quartet opus 11(b) de Ray Twomey (Partition)
L'impression sur demande
String quartet opus 11(b) de Ray Twomey (Partition et Parties)
L'impression sur demande
String Quartet Opus 11(b): Partition
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
SoundscapesSoundscapesCD $20.98
String quartet opus 11(b)
Demande de prêt
Des copies de cette pièce sont disponibles pour le prêt de: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver