for orchestra

John Estacio
John Estacio
Date de composition : 1997
Durée: 00:10:00
Genre: Works with Electronics / Multi-Media, Orchestra


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 2 x Flûte
  • 2 x Hautbois
  • 2 x Clarinette
  • 2 x Basson
  • 4 x Cor
  • 3 x Trompette
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timbales
  • 3 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harpe
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Cordes, avec archet, non spécifées
Instrumentation no. 2:
  • 1 x Grand orchestre
Cliquez ici pour télécharger l'œuvre intégrale (72.97 Mb - version non imprimable)

Notes de programme :
The first time ever I experienced the glorious spectacle of the aurora borealis was a few short years ago when I arrived in Edmonton. Up until that moment I had to settle for text book explanations and a geography teacher's descriptions. I had no idea what I was seeing when I first noticed the majestic curtains of swirling green light in the sky one crips October evening until a friend confirmed that it was indeed the Northern Lights. I was completely captivated and awestruck by the magical sight of dancing light; how could I not be inspired to compose a piece of music?! Having recently completed two serious compositions, it was the right time to revisit a style for unabashed lyrical melodies and joyous bright orchestral colours that 'Borealis' would require.
The composition is written in two movements. The first movement is meant to be awe-invoking and attempts to capture the ethereal atmosphere of the lights of the northern skies; wide streams of bending, curving light that abruptly disappear and reappear. The ephemeral nature of these celestial happenings is represented by the sudden colourful outburts followed by movements of near silence. The movement begins with the strings plaing a major chord and then gradually glissing (bending the pitch) until they all arrive at a different chord; for me, this musical gesture captures the essence of bending curtains of light and serves as a recurring motive throughout this movement. A solo flute introduces fragments of a melody; this melody is not heard in its' entirety until later in the piece when it is performed by a solo Bassoon and then an English Horn. The strings perform the melody and the composition swells to its climax featuring the brass and the sound splashes provided by the percussion. The movement concludes with a unique auditory effect in the percussion section that again attempts to convey the enchanting and magical quality of the borealis.
For the second movement, I wanted something that would be a formidable contrast to the subtle nature of the first movement, a celebrated dance of celestial light. The music for 'Scherzo' (meaning "playful") has more of a fervent and animated energy to it being inspired by the notion of dancing celestial lights (title changed to 'Wondrous Light, 2004). This movement is perhaps less of a literal musical representation of the borealis and is, instead, inspired by their energy and the speed at which the lights seem to zip through the evening skies. A nimble melody introduced by the Oboe is developed intervallically and rhythmically throughout the composition. Sudden swells in volume accompanied by quick glissandos was inspired by the swirling curtains of green light which twist and turn and vanish suddenly in the night sky. Towards the conclusion of this movement the nimble theme is transformed into a noble melody performed as a traditional chorale by the trombones, and then repeated by the full orchestra. The conclusion of this piece attempts to capture the majesty of the borealis - they have graced our northern skies since time began and will continue to dance ever more. (John Estacio, from the score)


  • Cote:
  • MI 9400 E79bo
  • Genre:
  • Works with Electronics / Multi-Media, Orchestra
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • March 28, 2003
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 score (ii, 84 p.) ; 43 cm.
    88 pages
    Hauteur: 43 cm
    Largeur: 28 cm
    Nombre total de pages des parties: 398
    21 parts ([279] p.) ; 28 cm
    Hauteur: 28 cm
    7 parts ([119] p.) ;
    Hauteur: 32 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • For orchestra.

    Dedicated to Maestro Grzegorz Nowak, the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, and to Joyce and Herbert Buchwald for their fervent support of the ESO.

    Instrumentation: 2(picc)2(EngHn)22/4331/timp, perc(3)(with digital delay), piano, harp/strings.

    Photocopy; master of score and parts in CMC Toronto.

    The second movement 'Wondrous Light' is available as a stand-alone work.
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
  • Service de location


Click here to listen to Borealis for orchestra in Centrestreams.

Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Borealis for orchestra de John Estacio (Partition)
L'impression sur demande
Borealis for Orchestra: Partition
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
Borealis for orchestraVous pouvez obtenir une copie papier de cette œuvre pour:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
en cliquant sur la touche Ajouter à la liste de demandes à droite
Des copies de cette pièce sont disponibles pour le prêt de: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Rental Library